Interview with Kristen Clouthier

Our interview today is with Kristen Clouthier, a Young Adult and New Adult Contemporary Fantasy writer, and member of the Pitch Wars Class of 2016. You can find her on twitter, if you want to learn more! 

What is one thing you wish everyone knew about Pitch Wars?

The one thing? Oh, sheesh. There are so many things to know, but if I had to sum it up in one word, it would be “community.”

Writing can easily be an isolating experience if you let it. Hours are spent behind a computer screen and it can feel like you’re alone in your pursuit of publishing. Or at least it did for me.

I was a self-proclaimed, writing recluse before stumbling upon Pitch Wars. I had no clue that there were others out there struggling with plot-holes, pacing, and drafting decent query letters. I don’t think writers are meant to be lone wolves. We thrive in packs and that’s exactly what you gain when you decide to enter Pitch Wars.

Even before becoming a mentee, there are groups out there just waiting to help you strengthen your submission. If you aren’t involved in the #PITCHWARRIORS Facebook group, join it! Like, right now… Stop reading and join…. I’ll wait….

Joined? Excellent!

It was in that group that my hermitical ways were squashed. I not only gained invaluable feedback on my queries and first pages, I found my first ever critique partner. My experience with CP’s was non-existent and the idea that someone wanted to not only read my work, but help me make it better was mind boggling. There are so many areas of life where people try and step on someone else’s dreams to make their own come true, but writing doesn’t have to be one of them.

As amazing as my pre-PW community was, I cannot begin to describe what it’s like to be a part of the 2016 Mentees. I’ve never met a group more dedicated to seeing its members succeed. Together, we celebrate our victories, mourn our rejections, and encourage each other when the journey becomes daunting.

The support in this community is unparalleled, and if you are on the fence about submitting your work, I encourage you to put yourself out there. The friendships I’ve developed with my mentor and fellow mentees have not only helped me to develop my skills as a writer, but to grow as a person.

So, take the risk. It’s worth it

 What is one gif that represents your Pitch Wars experience?

I found my pack through Pitch Wars and you will, too!

kristen

Leave a Reply

