Interview with Lindsey Frydman

Hey! I’m Lindsey. I write romance (contemporary, sci-fi, and magical realism), and I was mentored by the incredible Judi Lauren in 2016.

What did you do to prepare for Pitch Wars?

 
I’ll start with the things I did right: I took my old and dusty MS off the shelf, drudged up my long-forgotten query, and got to work. I edited the query, posted it on AgentQueryConnect, and got tons of feedback. Rinse, repeat, repeat, repeat. Then I sent it to my CPs and got even more feedback. Once I was satisfied, I edited my first chapter like it was the most important thing I would ever do. (Dramatic, but true.) Now for the things I did wrong… While I made my query and first chapter shine like a supernova, I neglected the remainder of my MS. Why, you ask? Because I never expected to get picked. DON’T DO THIS. Don’t self-reject because you truly never know what will happen. And when I started getting requests to see more from mentors, I spent two straight days editing. It was painful – to say the least. I repeat: do not make my mistake.
 

How did you choose which mentors to send to?

 
After stalking all the mentors looking for sci-fi romance, I bookmarked their bios. There weren’t many looking for such a specific genre so I ended up with only about eight mentors on my “potentials” list. I went back and forth through my list, whittling it down until I’d finally settled on three. I was incredibly torn about who the fourth would be, but I managed to pick – mostly based on how awesome she sounded since I wasn’t sure she’d be interested in my MS. In a weird and incredible turn of events, she was actually the one who picked me! And the rest, as they say, is history. (And yes, she was just as awesome as her bio made her sound.)
 

How/Why did you decide to enter Pitch Wars? 

I wanted to enter with my WIP, but it just wasn’t ready. My longest running CP said, “You do have that A.I. story…” My immediate reaction was hell freaking no. I’d shelved that MS after querying it 4 years ago and it was never seeing the light of day again. But with my fabulous CP’s encouragement, I decided I had nothing to lose. (Plus, writing contests are always fun!)
 

What was your favorite part of Pitch Wars?

My awesomesauce mentor and the community! Nothing is better than finding new writerly friends. ❤
 
 

What is one thing you wish everyone knew about Pitch Wars?

It’s been said many times before, but don’t focus on the agent round. That’s merely the icing on the cake. I only received one request directly from Pitch Wars, and then a slew of nearly fifty rejections followed before I finally found my agent. Enjoy the crazy rollercoaster ride!

 

What is one gif that represents your Pitch Wars experience?

eyeofthetiger

Leave a Reply

