Interview with Jen DeLuca

Our interview today is with Jen DeLuca, a member of the Pitch Wars Class of 2016. You can find her on Twitteror her website if you want to learn more! 

How did you choose which mentors to send to? 

I went through the mentor blog hop a few (hundred) times, and made notes on all the mentors in my age group/genre. I looked at their wishlists, and see what corresponded to my MS. I watched the Pitch Wars live shows to get an idea of mentors’ personalities, and they also dropped really good hints as to what they were looking for. But I mostly just double and triple-checked that my book was a good fit for what they were looking for!

How/Why did you decide to enter Pitch Wars? 

I had a MS that I love, that I’d been querying for a while, and had managed to snag a couple of R&R (revise & resubmit) requests from agents. I knew the book was as good as I could make it, but I still didn’t know if it was good enough. I had just finished a rewrite in July, right when Pitch Wars was starting to heat up, so I decided to enter. I thought being picked would be great, but even if I didn’t I hoped for some feedback from mentors that might point me in the right direction.

What was something that surprised you about Pitch Wars? 

Just HOW MUCH it would consume my life. I’d done rewrites before, I wasn’t worried about that, but it was a lot of work in a short amount of time. But it was also insanely fun. Having a mentor that cared about my book, and a whole community of people cheering me on, helped so much.

What was your favorite part of Pitch Wars? 

The community. SUCH a cliche answer, and I’m sure everyone says it. But one thing that made this experience survivable was the group of mentees. It was like an intensive course in revision, and we were all in it together. A bunch of us would meet up virtually for writing sprints (and a bunch of us still do!), we’d all take turns freaking out and consoling each other when it seemed impossible. We bonded as a group and I couldn’t be more thankful.

What would you say to someone thinking about entering Pitch Wars?

Don’t self-reject. If you have an MS that’s ready, go for it!  You have absolutely nothing to lose, and so much to gain. Be active in the community, make friends in your genre. Have fun!

What is one gif that represents your Pitch Wars experience?

runningoutoftime

Leave a Reply

