Interview with Suzanne Park

Our interview today is with Suzanne Park, a member of the Pitch Wars Class of 2016. She’s represented by Brent Taylor of Triada US Literary Agency. You can find her on Twitter or Facebook if you want to learn more! 

How did you choose which mentors to send to? 

I had only heard of Pitch Wars one week before it began. I basically had no time to prepare because of this, and didn’t much pre-Pitch Wars tweeting. Last year at this time I only had 50 Twitter followers and had only posted 25 tweets total. So I guess the moral of this story is, procrastination works! Just kidding. It really comes down to strength and fit of manuscript for Pitch Wars. Don’t stress if you’re not a huge social media person! I got into Pitch Wars as a social media recluse.

Not many mentors had put contemporary women’s fiction on their wishlist, there were maybe 5 mentors total? That made my submission process easy. Kellye and Sarah’s women’s fiction wishlist was pretty specific (voice and humor were key for them) and my manuscript seemed like something they’d like. It was kind of like applying for a job: what were the requirements, and did I meet most (or all) of them? Kellye and Sarah’s writing backgrounds wowed me, and their banter on Twitter was hilarious, so I knew right away I wanted them to mentor me.

How/Why did you decide to enter Pitch Wars? 

I knew my book was *almost* there, and was as good as I could make it, but I didn’t know where to go next. I’m generally a risk averse person, and there was no risk in entering Pitch Wars. I figured if I didn’t get in, I’d try again the next year.

What was something that surprised you about Pitch Wars? 

This may sound strange, but I was surprised that all of my free time for two months went toward writing and editing. 100% of it. I am a full-time working mom and somehow have a lot of family events going on at all times. Life goes on while Pitch Wars happens, and you need to juggle a lot, and say no to things you want to do.

Did I mention I moved during Pitch Wars? Yep. I packed up my apartment, moved, and unpacked during that time. I had my laptop with me at all times. At one point I couldn’t find any clean underwear, but I had my laptop and that was all that mattered.

Life goes on while you have Pitch Wars writing deadlines. It’s amazing, challenging, rewarding, and hectic. But I am so glad I participated.

What was your favorite part of Pitch Wars? 

  1. The community! I have a new CP now, thanks to Pitch Wars
  2. I increased my Twitter followers like eight-fold thanks to Pitch Wars! (Results may vary)
  3. I love my mentors so much. I just emailed them this week to give them an update about my WIP. They are so wonderful!

What would you say to someone thinking about entering Pitch Wars?

I highly recommend not moving into a new apartment during Pitch Wars.

What is one gif that represents your Pitch Wars experience?

Mine is a static GIF…

idris-elba-shouldnt-you-be-writing

Leave a Reply

