Interview with Lacee Little

Our interview today is with Lacee Little, a Middle Grade writer and a member of the Pitch Wars Class of 2016. You can find her on Twitteror her website if you want to learn more! 

What would you say to someone thinking about entering Pitch Wars?

We as writers are notoriously hard on ourselves, which comes in handy when we’re making sure every single word in our 90k manuscript pulls its weight. It’s not so great, however, when we turn that examination on ourselves.

A couple of months ago I seriously considered quitting querying. Not writing (I’m not crazy), but stopping attempting to get published. A few big setbacks had recently disappointed me, and I wasn’t sure if I had what it took to keep going (actually I still don’t, hahahaha). But I reached out to my group of MG co-mentees and told them what I was feeling.

Not only did they all encourage me not to quit, but nearly all of them shared they’d experienced–or were experiencing–the exact same thing. That honestly surprised me. I’d read a lot of their manuscripts and wips and had never once thought any of them should quit. And even if any of them had experienced the same setbacks I had–and a lot of them had, and worse–I would never advise them to quit. Advice I was seriously considering giving to myself. 

So, what I would say to you darling pitch wars hopefuls is to be kind to yourself. We often hold ourselves to higher standards than we hold others, and ‘tell’ ourselves things we would never tell anyone else. If your cp emailed you saying she’d gotten a stinging rejection from an agent, you wouldn’t tell her that her writing must be pathetic and not likely to ever attract anyone. So why do we tell ourselves that?

If you don’t finish your ms in time to submit to PW, be kind to yourself.

If you don’t get any requests, be kind to yourself.

If you don’t get chosen, be kind to yourself.

You can be your worst critic or your strongest supporter; choose wisely. A mentor or a great group of cp’s or co-mentees will be your biggest cheerleaders, and often necessary after a rough day. But at the end of that day, the loudest voice in your head will still be you, so remember to treat yourself with the same kindness you would show others.

What is one gif that represents your Pitch Wars experience?

giphy (1)

 

 

Leave a Reply

